Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Wishing on Wednesday #14: Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff

Wishing on Wednesday is a weekly meme to feature recent and upcoming releases that I’m wishing for!

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin


In a magical kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke.

Rump has never known his full name—his mother died before she could tell him. So all his life he's been teased and bullied for his half-a-name. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. For Rump discovers he can spin straw into gold. Magical gold.

His best friend Red Riding Hood warns him that magic is dangerous—and she's right! That gold is worth its weight in trouble. And with each thread he spins, Rump weaves himself deeper into a curse.

There's only one way to break the spell: Rump must go on a quest to find his true name, along the way defending himself against pixies, trolls, poison apples, and one beautiful but vile-mannered queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—Rump just might triumph in the end.

An inventive fairytale retelling, perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine or Shannon Hale.

Why I Want It:

Rumpel-freakin-stiltskin! Where has this book been my whole life! I love Rumpelstiltskin, and I love Middle Grade fantasy! It’s the best combo since Chocolate and Peanut Butter! And “perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine or Shannon Hale”? That would be me!

Coming to a bookstore near you… April 9th 2013 from Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

What are you Wishing for this Wednesday?

6 comments:

  1. I want to read this, too! The only other Rumpelstiltskin retelling I can immediately think of is THE CRIMSON THREAD, and that's mainly because I just re-read it! Also, yes, Shannon Hale and Gail Carson Levine?! I hope it lives up to that description! (Sometimes they pick very impressive authors for the blurbs, and then I read the book and think, Really? Um, no.)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just picked up a copy of this one at ALA and I can't wait to read it. I also love Rumpelstiltskin and this one sounds like so much fun. Great WoW pick!

    ReplyDelete
  3. This looks so fun!! I want this!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds really cute and fun, and I really love that cover! Great pick! =D

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love the sound of this one! What a great MG! Beautiful and magical cover too.
    Clean Teen Fiction's WoW

    ReplyDelete
  6. Got to say you picked out an interesting book for this week. Hope you enjoy it! Here is my WoW for this week!

    ReplyDelete

I love comments, and I promise I read every single one. I do my best to reply to all your meaningful comments, so come back in a couple days to see if I have! And if you see that I've responded to others comments and not yours, it's just because I've been struck dumb by your awesomeness! And if you leave me a link to your blog, I'll try to stop by and comment!

This is an award and tag-free zone! I'm honored, but I don't have the time to pass it along )=

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...